Price Camp SCV Price Camp SCV
Camp Roster
by Gene Dressel

     1956 saw a new administration in place and a few changes in Camp officers. Charles Stuart Via became Camp Commander for the first time. He was to serve in this position several more times throughout the years. Carl P. Daniel  was elected 1st Lieutenant Commander, Herbert Curlee Phillips Jr. was elected Adjutant (he would become Commander in 1958), Carl P. Daniel Jr. became treasurer, and Frederic L. Niemeyer became Quartermaster (he had been Camp Commander in 1948). Wylie Creel retained his position as 2nd Lieutenant Commander, as did; W. C. Rawls Jr. (Judge Advocate), Dr. Drew Luten (Surgeon), George Tucker (Historian), Hall Wingfield (Color Sergeant), and W. Scott Hancock (Chaplain). The membership numbers were down slightly as indicated by the following roster:

  1. Abbott, Arthur C. 
  2. Atterbury, H. Baker 
  3. Barnes, E. F. Jr. 
  4. Brokaw, Frederic 
  5. Cannon, K. R. 
  6. Crowdus, Wm. W. Jr. 
  7. Crowdus, Wm. W. 
  8. Curlee, Francis M. 
  9. Dalton, John M. 
  10. Farrar, Alf E. 
  11. Gordon, M. M. 
  12. Hampton, Dr. O. P. 
  13. Hampton, Dr. Stanley F. 
  14. Hancock, Major Walker    
  15. Hanley, Edward J. 
  16. Hopkins, Edw. J. 
  17. Hume, Fred 
  18. Jones, Lorraine F. Jr. 
  19. Knabe, Paul 
  20. Lockwood, Richard J.
  21. Long, Breckinridge 
  22. Martin, L. F. 
  23. McCulloch, Spencer R. 
  24. Meriwether, Lee 
  25. Mullen, Joseph 
  26. Niedermeyer, Hiram P. 
  27. Petrie, Dudley 
  28. Phillips, Robert B.    
  29. Powell, R. Michael II 
  30. Price, John O. 
  31. Rawls, Dr. Thompson T. 
  32. Rawls, Walter C. 
  33. Rives, John R. T. 
  34. Rodgers, H. D. 
  35. Ross, Wm. L. 
  36. Simms, Dr. B. D. 
  37. Skinker, Thomas J. 
  38. Stewart, Dr. Floyd 
  39. Stribling, Col. C. R. 
  40. Turner, Dale O. 
  41. Warren, William 
  42. Whittall, J. T.


  1. Judge Walter B. Jones 
  2. Rev. Frank C. King 
  3. George W. Tucker